h1

Happy New Year

January 1, 2009

Happy New Year to everyone! I hope you had a wonderful time ringing in the changes and please don’t feel nervous, I have a feeling this is going to be a phenomenalyear. Usually all I feel is foreboding and an unsettling sense of doom (“doooooooooooooooom!!!!”) so if I’m feeling good, you should too.

How did you spend your day?

Here’s my list of awesome things I did.

  1. Ate a fig and blueberry pastry for my breakfast, sat on a bench watching baseball in the Imperial Gardens, Kyoto. 

2. Walked through the Torii gates at Fushimi Inari Shrine

cimg1266

 

cimg1272

 

 

cimg1280

It was so, so, so beautiful.

3. Wrote a prayer to the Universe asking for the grace to be Thankful. I’m a pretty lucky girl but I rarely appreciate it. Can you guess which fox head is mine? I decorated it myself. The fox is the messengers of the Inari deity, I think he’s a good enough messenger for my prayer.

foxcard

The sun was streaming down all day but it was absolutely freezing and after Fushimi Inari we headed down to a main road in search of a bus stop. Huddled on a bench eating  brie sandwiches (such a treat in Japan!), an elderly lady approached and we, being the lovely girls we are, of course stood up and offered the seats to her. The delightful lady refused, insisting we sit down, telling us our food looked delicious.  After a few minutes it obviously got too cold for her because she walked to the kerb and hailed a cab. As the driver switched on his indicators, she turned and giving us a huge smile pulled three fat tangerines from her shopping bag and insisted we took them.  Fruit is really expensive in Japan and it was a very kind gift that meant a lot. Sometimes when I’m on a bus and everyone is staring at me or when someone gets up to move away, life in Japan can make me really, really sad. But. BUT. Moments like this far outweigh those times in quantity and importance.  

4. Joya no kane  at Kiyomizu

In Budhist tradition, negative aspects of human behaviour are mapped by 108 Bonnō, the innate tendencies in humans which lead to sin and suffering. On New Years Eve, the large bell in the temple grounds is rung 108 times. Once for each of these propensities. After the 108th chime, you are absolved of these sins and start the New Year afresh. Since reading Ryu Murakami’s In the Miso Soup I’ve wanted to hear the bells and start the New Year like this. This year, I did it. Which is pretty sweet, really, if you ask me. 

cimg1301

cimg1306

Look a Monk!

Love and a kiss

Mizichan X

P.S Guess what happened just after midnight? It snowed :)

One comment

  1. It is pretty sweet mizi!



Leave a Reply

