h1

New Dance Craze…Sweeping the Nation

February 20, 2009

Life goes more smoothly for me, if I spend a small proportion of my time engaged in some sort of physical activity.

I am extraordinarily reluctant to call this ‘working out’ – or *shudder* exercise. Those words just aren’t in my self referential vocabulary my love.

So, recently I have been dancing – yes. I know. It’s a ridiculous image – a chubby gaijin dancing round her apartment the size of a Kabocha squash. And I’m sure it’s been giving my over-the-road neighbours a treat and really pissing off the guy below me. Nevertheless, around 11 pm you can find me dancing around my apartment.

Sometimes I do dull dull deadly dull aerobics. (That took a lot for me to admit) I’ve tried belly dancing (pulled a calf muscle!!), salsa, ballet and even raving around to drum and bass. But sometimes…even raving is a little to uniform for my admittedly eclectic tastes. And recently I’ve been pioneering my own dance/exercise REVOLUTION.It goes something like this.

Put on Balkan Punk.

Close eyes (and curtains…)

rock.out

It’s so much fun:

You start to feel all… sort of… knee bendy – ginger wine drunk and happy :)

I love this one… I have no idea why they seem to shout “Okinawa!” during the bridge.

And of course – for a “cool down”. Gogol Bordello.

Same song…but…LIVE at Glasto.

One comment

  1. I want to be an eastern European gypsy!
    dance dance dance mizi! xo



Leave a Reply

