h1

Half way through, realising I miss birdsong and church bells the most.

February 26, 2009

Things I realised yesterday:

I haven’t ordered a coffee in English for nine months…

I really, really, really, really really  miss these sounds…

 

It’s subtle, but towards the end of the video you can make out the heady drone of an airplane. That, the wood pigeon and the quality of light really remind me of  home.

Homesickness is a big part of living abroad or me – it catches me, lying on my sunlit sofa – staring out at the giant advertisements written all in Kanji and then again, under gloomy and oppressive skies ordering a coffee in a language I barely understand and for the hundredth time.

Not that I would have it any other way – The Delai Lama suggested that one should Judge success by what you gave up in order to get it…And he is onto something there. Losing yourself in the service of others, not getting what you want – giving things up, they all enrich you terribly. I suppose it’s quite timely then that yesterday was the first day of Lent. Despite all this philosophising, that video still made me cry.

 

Are you giving anything up?

p.s. a present:

Via this blog

Rumour is … she wrote this song whilst drinking wine with her band in a garden in Oxford…can you blame her?

Magical things happen in this city

Can’t even explain it. Just go visit sometime if you can. You can stay with my Mum and Dad?

Love Mizichan oxoxoxoxoxo

spaceball

Leave a Reply

