h1

Hiking, Umeshu and Implied camera envy…

March 23, 2009

Insistent and furious note to self:
You are far too old to stay out til 8 am drinking a fine mixture of Umeshu, vodka and beer.

If you ever see me mixing my drinks…EVER…you have my full permission and in fact encouragement to smack me one in the chops. SO, if you’ve been harbouring secret resentments towards me – you now have the excuse you’ve been waiting for and I will be happy because I won’t wake up with umeshu leaking OUT OF MY EFFING EARS.

It really does make for a terrible, plum-scented mess…

My addiction to hiking continues – Last Friday a group of us went and Hiked Mitaki Yama, also known as Soko Yama.
At the base of the slope a tiny but functioning temple sits nestled between hills lined with graves.

The sheer cliffs are quite remarkable – I know a lot of Japanese people who have spoken about envying what they perceive to be English gardens, but truly – the art of Japanese gardening is also quite spectacular.

Three waterfalls  lie in the valley below the summit and around each is clustered an array of statues, Ojizō-sama mostly – but I swear I saw a Ganesh  in there somewhere…) 

The gardens are tiered – with rough, rock hewn steps leading from one terrace to the next. Giant Pines surround each clearing and Bamboo forests creak in the wind on the ridges up above the gardens.

We got lost – we started following yellow tikets hung from the branches of the bamboo – they were of course, markers of the electricity pylons that cris cross the forest up there – we ended up deep in the soft and muffled silence of the bamboo forests.

At one point Whitney and I were separated from the rest of the group and although we were only a few metres away from them – we could hear nothing, except the cracking of the bamboo in the wind. It was a tad scary and it prompted us to haul ass up the bank ahead of us, yelling out for the rest of our group.

These photos have compressed horribley and my camera…*sigh* does not do justice to the colors and textures in the garden. If you click on them you can view them at my flickr page.

Love,

Mizichan

xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo

 

Leave a Reply

