h1

Stones stacked up in a line…

May 21, 2009

A few weeks ago I wrote a long, rambling quasi-essay about Feminism, Japan and me.

oooo look - moss in a rambling trieste about feminism...how apt.

A few hours later, looking back on what I’d written I felt it looked like the long-winded ramblings of a bloated and lazy mind.

 

Worst of all – it seemed to fit neatly into every narrow stereotype I’ve heard about “myself” since I came to Japan…

It left me disappointed to say the least, questioning my previously strong grasp of what I imagined were the machinations of misogyny, inequality and bias. I seemed to have become, quite unconsciously, the embodiment of every construct and every caricature ever told about’women’.

 I couldn’t tell if it was because I had never been so implicated in a culture rooted in misogynistic and unequal discourses…or if it was because these ‘discources’ were actually just truthful portraits on what can happen to a person if left to their own devices for too long.

But, the moon still shines every night in yellowed smudges onto the waters of Hiroshima Castle. The whole world seems to keep moving even if I continue to not have a clue where I’m going or what I’m doing. And more so, I’m bloody enjoying every single second of it of late.

 

My parents came, stayed for three weeks and then they left.

Do you like the photos?

The funny thing has been that the pangs of wanting to go home have subsided. I really miss my parents and Caroline, Alex, Jack, Rupert – oh bugger it – you all know who you are, I don’t need to name you. But i just don’t want to go home, I want you here instead!

 

Not much else to say tonight,

It’s getting late after all.

Love, Mizichan

xoxoxoxoox

Leave a Reply

