h1

Poverty Rations, 108 days and er…India…

August 19, 2009

Well I’m back from my wee Tokyo/Kyoto/Nara trip safe and sound, with all major neurological and cognitive functions in tact, in tune and on time.

gang

It felt all flavours of wrong to let Alice and Caroline go home without me. All flavours of wrong and that’s all I have to say about that.

tower

Photo credit must go to the delectable Ms Barclay as always.

 gang2

Photo credit for this one goes to a terribley brave chap who offered to take our picture bless him.

The trip was amazing, I do love Tokyo quite a bit. The clubs were banging, the people were friendly (and fluent. which always helps) and the view out over the city was as achingly beautiful and heartbreaking as it always is. But – I think this might have been my last time to see it.  Which I don’t even want to consider but there we go.

Another wonderful thing happened when I stepped out of the temple shadows in Kio Mizu Dera.  There is a story in the bible ( I know, I know – but keep reading) about Elizabeth, she was the cousin of Mary and was pregnant at the time Mary was pregnant with Jesus. So, anyway (bear with me!) when Elizabeth saw Mary the bible describes how the “child lept in her womb” because the baby could see something amazing. And I know it sounds like a big pile of wank but that passage filled my mind. Something in me leapt up. Woke up. From my stomach up into my chest, behind my heart. It was so, so beautiful and maybe its because it will be my last time. Maybe it’s because I had two of the most wonderful people in the world with me, whatever – it was a good feeling.

One unfortunate thng is that the combination of a HUGE phone bill (oh international calls and alcohol…how you rule my life), Shinkansen fares and general debauchery mean that I am currently living off about 1000 Yen for a week and a half. Which is about five pounds…eeek. So I’m chowing down on a lot of boiled eggs and toast and rationing my frozen fruits for smoothie making to keep my nutrient levels up! I rather like living like this though…feels a lot more rewarding than  flabbily and lazily spending my monies on shit like TINY USELESS SHELVING UNITS. gah. I cannot think why but one day when I was bored and sad I went out and brought the most pointless little shelving unit. It’s about 40cm by 40cm and its shelves are only big enough for tea lights. What a knob eh? Can’t even light the candles because THE ENTIRE THING IS MADE OF WOOD. *sigh* When will I learn. Just not used to this having money lark.

In other news, it’s one hundred and eight days until hometime. Until Christmas. Until chicken casserole. Until I get to hug my Mum and my Dad and brothers and sisters. And before then, I have to take a vacation somewhere to use up my vacation days AND I have silver week next month. Think the plan is to go to Pussan, I went to Korea in June and I didn’t really like it but this time it will be the city and it will still be warm and its so close we can just take the boat from Tokuyama and be there instantly!Not sure where I will vacation though, in October. Everything was fixed on going to see my darling friend in Korea but now that’s all off I can chose anywhere (within reason Asia….or…er…Actually, east asia aka very close to Japan lol).

Also, I’ve been planning (as always) my next few moves and I’ve pretty much settled on getting qualified as a yoga teacher in India in February, yeh that’s right..before I go to art school in September. I know, I know… Think I’ve found the school, the teachers and it all looks to be coming together but I will keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

